close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Planning & Zoning

View Meeting Dates

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is established by Township Board Resolution. Members must be qualified electors of the township (property ownership requirement ruled unconstitutional by the Attorney General for the State of Michigan). Members shall be representative of major interests as they exist in the township, such as agriculture, recreation, education, public health, government, commerce, transportation, and industry. The Planning Commission has the authority to make and adopt a basic plan as a guide for the development of the unincorporated portions of the township. It shall approve/deny construction, location and character of streets, squares, parks or other public ways, grounds or open space, or public buildings or structures.

Planning Commission Members

Representative   Position   Term Expires
Ken Hendrickson   Chair / ZBA Rep   12/31/2024
Brad Messenger   Vice Chair   12/31/2025
Dave Vandlen   Board Member   11/08/2024
Judy Mackinder   Member   12/31/2024
Ron Hoerr   Member   12/31/2024
Larry Skelding   Member   12/21/2024
Judy Robinson   Member   12/31/2024


Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Administrative Policies, Zoning Requirements & Permit Fee

Township boards are required to appoint a zoning board of appeals (ZBA) to act on all questions that arise in administering the zoning ordinance, including reviewing decisions made by the official or body charged with enforcing the ordinance.The ZBA must include a planning commission member. The remaining members must be township residents who are registered voters and who reside outside of incorporated cities and villages and represent the population distribution and various interests present in the township. One member may be a member of the township board, but an elected township official cannot serve as chairperson of the ZBA. Employees or contractors of the township board may not serve on the ZBA.

Zoning Board of Appeals Members

Representative Position Term Expires
Maryann Herbstreith Chairperson 12/31/2025
Paul Anderson Township Board Representative 11/08/2024
Ken Hendrickson Planning Commission Representative 12/31/2023
Tracy Goll Member 4/12/2024
Cathy Skelding Member 12/31/2023
Lindsay Draime Alternate 2/01/2023